Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

How can I pay my personal injury lawyer fees in my Florida accident case?

Posted · Add Comment

Personal Injury Video Law Tip

“Accident cases by enlarge in Florida are done on what is called a contingency fee basis. The state of Florida puts guidelines on the amounts that attorneys can charge for contingency fees. Typically, the attorney will front all of the cost in your case and they take a percentage of the monies that you recover. Usually before suit that is 33.3% and 40% if the case goes into litigation.”
– Dena Sisk Foman

Additional Information about how you can pay your personal injury lawyer’s fees in your Florida accident case

Accident cases are typically taken by a Florida personal injury lawyer on a contingency fee basis. This means that the attorney gets paid a percentage of the recovery (the money you receive in a successful case), no matter the amount of time they spend on the case.

In some cases an attorney will spend many hours on a case and will even take the case to trial with no guarantee that they will win the case for you. If the attorney loses at trial, there are no attorneys fees to be paid. As the client, you are not responsible to pay the personal injury lawyer’s fees if the outcome is unsuccessful. There are other times that settlement happens relatively quickly and the fee is the same. Any time an attorney takes an accident case, they are taking a risk as there is never a guarantee of payment and the cost of litigating is great. The guidelines set forth by the Florida Bar are as follows:

a. Before the filing of an answer or the demand for appointment of arbitrators or, if no answer is filed or no demand for appointment of arbitrators is made, the expiration of the time period provided for such action:

1. 33 1/3% of any recovery up to $1 million; plus
2. 30% of any portion of the recovery between $1 million and $2 million; plus
3. 20% of any portion of the recovery exceeding $2 million.

b. After the filing of an answer or the demand for appointment of arbitrators or, if no answer is filed or no demand for appointment of arbitrators is made, the expiration of the time period provided for such action, through the entry of judgment:

1. 40% of any recovery up to $1 million; plus
2. 30% of any portion of the recovery between $1 million and $2 million; plus
3. 20% of any portion of the recovery exceeding $2 million.

c. If all defendants admit liability at the time of filing their answers and request a trial only on damages:

1. 33 1/3% of any recovery up to $1 million; plus
2. 20% of any portion of the recovery between $1 million and $2 million; plus
3. 15% of any portion of the recovery exceeding $2 million.

d. An additional 5% of any recovery after institution of any appellate proceeding is filed or post-judgment relief or action is required for recovery on the judgment

Most attorneys pay the costs of litigating the case and then are reimbursed upon settlement or verdict. This is completely separate from attorneys fees. Costs can include depositions, copies, expert fees, filing fees, investigators and any cost associated with pursuing your case. Costs can be anywhere from hundreds to hundreds of thousands of dollars depending on your case.

Personal injury law video number 100034:
How can I pay my personal injury lawyer's fees
in my Florida accident case?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *